1 month old!

So-Here we are, one month gone already!  Baby B is gorgeous and sweet.  He’s starting to be more alert and interested in things around him, including noises–which makes sleep a little harder for all of us.  Generally, he sleeps 2-3 hours at a stretch with one long sleep of 4 hours at best.  He is usually sleeping on me, next to me, in his bouncer or in his swing.  The bassinet is useless.  I’m rereading Weissbluth’s Healthy Sleep Habits, Happy Child since it helped immensely with sleep training us and Bup 7 years ago.  Sadly, it basically says to suck it up for the first 6-8 weeks so right now it is just review.

In other news, he loves to be held, to bounce and sway and swing.  In fact, he sleeps best in a swing for now, although I plan to begin transitioning him to his crib in the next few weeks when I start back to work part time.  He likes areas of high contrast, so our dark wood ceiling fans against the white ceiling, or the black and white African safari posters we have hanging will hold his attention for minutes at a time.

Breastfeeding is finally improving.  I would say it rarely hurts at all anymore, unless I’m empty and have pissed off my baby shark.  He tends to get a little aggressive then, which is hilarious and terrifying at the same time.  At any rate, he is gaining weight like a champ and was at 12 lbs at his 2 week appointment.  If I put a cloth diaper on him, he doesn’t squeeze into the 0-3 month sizes at all.  Good thing I have drawers full of baby clothes.

Speaking of cloth diapers, that is going so-so.  I’d say we use them 1/4 to 1/3 of the time.  I only have 6 covers that fit him (Thirsties brand for those wondering) but have around 18 cloth inserts.  I found buying the supplies for this confusing at first.  I also have four of the g-diapers covers and two boxes of their disposable/ biodegradable inserts.  I liked the idea of this, but they leave a weird jellied ball substance on his skin when they get really wet, so I haven’t used them as much.  My main complaint with the cloth diapers so far is just the complication of putting them together and getting them on.  Not bad in the daytime, but in the middle of the night, when he’s pooped for the third time in 40 minutes and I’m trying to be quick and quiet, they kind of suck.  So, at night we use disposables, or if the covers are all dirty, or if his outfit will fit better over a disposable…Maybe I will like it better when he is a little older and pooping more regularly/ solidly.  I don’t mind the cleaning of them or any of that, which is what I thought would be the biggest pain.

What else…?  Well, Bup is still doing well with his big brother role.  He mostly acts as a fetcher for me, but will also read to Bax or talk to him, show him toys and that kind of thing.  We are all looking forward to the next stage of social smiles and chatter.  But for now we are loving snuggling this one.

Bax

Bax

1961049_10203328901760260_1526889365_o

6 thoughts on “1 month old!

  1. randomsqueaks

    He’s a cutie! I’m using Weissbluth’s Healthy Sleep Habits, Happy Twins and I really like it. Doesn’t help much for the “is he hungry or wanting a paci/attention/having gas?” issues though.

    Reply
  2. maternalstateofmind

    He’s such a cutie! Sounds like things are going well!

    What did you find helpful about the Healthy Sleep Habits book the first time around? My guy is 3 mos and a terrible sleeper. We just bought that book but there’s just so much info I dont even know where to start!

    Reply
    1. bookwormmommy2013 Post author

      Basically, watch for sleepy signs between one an two hours if wakefulness EVERY time. Start soothing to sleep as soon as you see it. Once we started doing that Bup stopped being overtired and slept better all around. I’d recommend flipping to the section on babies 1-4 months old. Also, you don’t have to let them cry it out, but if you soothe to sleepiness they might fuss for a little while-let them and see if it leads to sleep. Good luck!

      Reply
  3. There Is A Chance

    yay! such a cute lil man! i’m using smartipants (www.smartipants.com) and love them! i have prefolds with wraps as well as bum genius all in ones but i like the smartipants one size diapers the best!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

